mixed passions

I’ve been on the mission for a good read.

I have come to the fierce realization that with grad school resuming in a few weeks, I have to get my hands on some good brain candy before my life gets turned back into the recluse of Vysha.

I decided to pick up one of the books we bought on our recent journey to San Diego, CA …side note on that one, we went to beautiful CA to experience the Mosaic church’s yello/origins/ethos conference [fantastic encounter, I might add]. Here are a few thoughts I took from that conference, which was posted on my other blog, and I thought the two or three of you who read this might enjoy the context…

            Thursday, May 03, 2007

church of the hills…launching trip to california

The only way to explain our amazing week thus far at the yello/origins/ethos conference here in Pasadena, California is through a few of the amazing quotes I’ve caught:

/God is looking for the one who would leave the thousands who are easily reached in order to get the one or two who are harder to reach.

/We’ve learned to reach, connect and communicate w/ the Pauls, Sarahs, Moses’ and Joshuas in our lives, but we have no idea how to communicate with the Dyonisis’ and the Damaris’ [Acts 17].

/True Biblical Community always looks to the outsider. However, our version of community is like walking in on a couple making out–it’s very intimate but you just don’t feel like you should be there.

/We usually have to structure something into our lives or programs b/c they’re not naturally there in our core.

/You can’t change history, but you can create the future.

/If you think you know something, you will not explore it.

/Many of our churches are irrelevant on Sunday b/c they’re irrelevant on Monday.

AND MY ULTIMATE FAVORITE…MY NEW LIFE MANTRA:

/the church isn’t here for us [Christians]–we are the church, and we’re here for the world

 

Now that you have enjoyed the smallest of my many rabbit trails…about the book I’ve decided to read. Uprising is a book by pastor and speaker, Erwin McManus…this book completely taps into the idea that this Christian life is an adventure of faith…it echos my heart when it says that faith is not synonymous with safety w/o any risk, voyage, chaos or the extreme.

You should have seen me reading this in the car yesterday…Mark thought I was insane. Literally, try to imagine me reading this out loud, at least three times in a row, with growing excitement each time and excessive fluctuation in my voice… I have issues…i.e., “drama queen”. So, I shouldn’t have been surprised when Mark decided to park the car and get out of it to leave me to my moment.

I’ll share; he writes:

The furnace of our passions is our character, and while evil character burns hot for destructive passions that consume and destroy, the character of God ignites passion for what is good and true. Our quest is to have God’s character formed in us so that His passions might burn in us.

Can you now understand my reaction? It’s as though I was momentarily transported into the life of Sojourner Truth, a former slave, abolitionist, preacher and advocate of women’s rights…that’s the life of passion, adventure and altruistic character I’m talking about! Wew!

I’ll leave you with what I think my have been in Erwin’s head when he wrote the above words:

 Rom 5.3-5, msg   

There’s more to come: We continue to shout our praise even when we’re hemmed in with troubles, because we know how troubles can develop passionate patience in us, and how that patience in turn forges the tempered steel of virtue, keeping us alert for whatever God will do next. In alert expectancy such as this, we’re never left feeling shortchanged. Quite the contrary—we can’t round up enough containers to hold everything God generously pours into our lives through the Holy Spirit!

Leave a Reply

