aunt milly [1/27/1915 – 7/25/2007]

I am standing on the sea shore.
A ship spreads her sails to the morning breeze
And starts for the ocean.

I stand, watching her until she fades on the horizon,
And someone at my side says,“She’s gone!” 
Gone where?

The loss of sight is in ME, not in her.
Just at the moment when someone says,“She’s gone”
There are others who are watching her coming.
Other voices take up the glad shout,“Here she comes!” 

Jesus said . . . “I am the resurrection, and the life;
he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live:  
And whosoever liveth and believeth in me shall never die.”
John 11:25-26a

………………………………………

Thu 12/09/04 1:51 PM
Aunt Milly is still being evaluated in the nursing facility, to find the reason for her frequent falls.   

Monday, 4/16/07 1:47 PM
Aunt Milly continues to decline – not markedly since last visit, but does not respond except to nod her head to simple questions.  Even at the times that she is awake she is not alert and spends the majority of her time sleeping.  She gives no apparent response to attempts at conversation – even about memories.  She remains weak.Each life has a beginning – a middle – and an end.  It is my prayer that the end of her life here will be as peaceful and assuring to her as she has been to each of us over the years.   

Monday, 7/23/07 11:43 AM
It is becoming apparent that Aunt Milly’s time here is very limited.  Aunt Milly is moving toward the end stages of life here on earth.  She is now in bed, and unresponsive. 

Wed 7/25/07 9:04 PM
Just a few minutes before 11:00 pm (Ohio time) I got a call from Laclede Groves to say that Aunt Milly is gone from here.  Not gone altogether, but gone from here.  Now she is with her family and her Lord.  I am so glad for her . . . and so sad for those of us she has left behind with so many wonderful memories. 

………………………………………

SOMEDAY YOU WILL READ IN THE PAPERS THAT MOODY IS DEAD.  DON’T YOU BELIEVE A WORD OF IT.  AT THAT MOMENT I SHALL BE MORE ALIVE THAN I AM NOW.  I WAS BORN OF THE FLESH IN 1837, I WAS BORN OF THE SPIRIT IN 1855.  THAT WHICH IS BORN OF THE FLESH MAY DIE.  THAT WHICH IS BORN OF THE SPIRIT SHALL LIVE FOREVER.”
/
Dwight L. Moody 

This post is an arrangement of emails from my mom updating us
on the health of my Great-Aunt Milly.
She will be greatly missed.  
 
Mildred Wienke [1.27.1915 – 7.25.2007]

Leave a Reply

