a brief moment of transcendence

If you can’t go to church and for at least a moment be given transcendence, if you can’t go to church and pass briefly from this life in to the next, then I can’t see why anyone would go. Just a brief moment of transcendence causes you to come out of church a changed person.
/Garrison Keillor 

I caught this quote by our beloved Garrison Keillor, who is widely known due to his wonderful artistry in Prairie Home Companion and such on NPR. This quote is a real show-stopper…and due to the fact that I learn best through repetition…for my sake, read it again…

 If you can’t go to church and for at least a moment be given transcendence, if you can’t go to church and pass briefly from this life in to the next, then I can’t see why anyone would go. Just a brief moment of transcendence causes you to come out of church a changed person. 

Now, think w/ me here while I am filled with questions. No answers, just questions. 

  • What does this “church” look like when we see that WE [Christians and Christ Followers] ARE THE CHURCH?
  • How does this materialize when we serve our neighbors by acknowledging them, talking to them, maybe even bringing in their trash cans?
  • What does this mean when we sacrifice our zoning time on the plane to hear the story of the person sitting next to us?
  • What does this look like when we continually give our time, energy, resources, joy and peace to the lost, lonely, scared, hurt, alienated, depressed, despised, rejected, dying, apathetic, dogmatic, or diseased, only to see that instead of the sacrificed pieces of ourselves decreasing as we give them, they multiply?
  • Can I be that “moment of transcendence” that a person sees and changes them?
  • Can I be a reflection of Jesus here?
  • Can I be the church?
  • Can I understand that if indeed my eternal life began the moment I accepted Christ as my Savior, hence, my Kingdom Life began…Yes, it will be in its fullest sense, “Thy Kingdom Come”, after Christ returns, but what if I lived that way now?
Leave a Reply

