Saturday, July 23, 2005 – little house on the prairie…south florida style

Here I am again…blogging during yet another one of my sleepless nights. I’m trying to figure out which is the greater illness…the insomnia or the blogging addiction.

Anyway, in my restlessness, I decided to read a few of my previous blogs from years past to see what God was teaching me “way back when”. I dug up this one and found that this lesson continues to resurface in my life repeatedly…kind of like a beach ball in the water; no matter how much you think it’s finally submerged, it pops up again and again and again.

So, if you’d like…travel with me down memory lane…
Why I thought Little House was a good analogy, I have no idea. But work with me here.
…and if you desire context, I wrote this when we had moved from Cleveland to West Palm and we were still living in Mark’s parent’s guest room [interesting how some things change…others don’t…quite ironic, I must say].

little_house.jpg 

Saturday, July 23, 2005 – little house on the prairie…south florida style

Did you ever notice during the opening of Little House on the Prairie show, while the theme song is being played, ma and pa wilder are in the old covered wagon, bumping along (before 4 wheel suspension or shocks were even a sparkle in an inventor’s eye)…and they’re smiling…both of them as happy as can be! It had to have been hot, smelly, bumpy and itchy (did you ever notice the clothes?)!  

I understand that this was a re-creation, but it certainly makes me think about true happiness. It doesn’t matter where you are or the circumstances you’re going through…it’s who you’re with and what you’re learning. Ma was happy that pa and the kids where there, and pa was happy that he didn’t have to stop for too many pee breaks.

What am I saying? I am so happy that I’m not on this journey by myself. When God said that He would provide for our needs, He really meant it!

This whole trip to Florida, moving from the best ministry in the world, the best job in the world, the best friends in the world to a very unkind, hot place…well, let’s say…I wasn’t looking forward to it. However, God has proven Himself to be much more than faithful! When He chose to remove the closeness of those things, He replaced some of them with things that would be better for me during this stage of my life. We’re now in another young adult ministry (somewhat smaller, but w/ tons of potential), I work w/ great people, and have made some of the most solid relationships within such a short amount of time. To add to that, I’ve had Mark beside me all the way…smiling just like pa!

    

Leave a Reply

