enlightening christmas lights

As an avid blogger, I appreciate fellow bloggers and blogger friends of blogger friends.

ashley_85, a said blogger friend of a, uh, said blogger friend, wrote an enlightening post on Christmas worth re-posting for your blog-reading pleasure…enjoy.street lights

I was driving down my favorite part of the highway tonight, admiring the Christmas lights as I passed. On any other night, I would have kept driving on – most likely being disgusted by the consumer-driven, santa-fest that is both corrupting and supporting our society. But for some reason I was humbled by the clarity of the lights in the darkness. All of a sudden I understood the lights, as if they spoke right to me. They spoke of coming. They spoke of hope. They told me that Christmas is so little about the day itself and so much about the waiting, the anticipation. They told me that Christmas is about our lives, our faith, which seem to be an eternal waiting game. But there is hope and there is a King – and he is coming. The lights told me they shine so I won’t forget.

Its so easy to forget.

4 thoughts on “enlightening christmas lights

  1. Oh, I completely agree! Even though I don’t “officially” know ashley_85…this post was another helpful push to take this Christmas season seriously, finding the beauty in our culture’s presentation of the Holidays [although quite distorted] and see the Divine within such expressions of hope. I agree. It’s lovely. [kudos to ashley-85]

  2. this said julie all over it … “I would have kept driving on – most likely being disgusted by the consumer-driven, santa-fest that is both corrupting and supporting our society.’

Leave a Reply

