how to…life map {2008}

For one of my jobs, we had to document a Spiritual Growth Plan for 2008 [I bet you know which job that was]. I’ve completed similar forms in the academic arena. Note, my Academic Professional Development Plan was indeed a glimpse into the future…however, it looked more like a train wreck waiting to happen rather than an annual record citing a fervor [i.e., compulsion] for success and accomplishment. On the contrary, this exercise was one of significance and value while it prompted introspection and clarity of mind. Since I lack the basic boundaries in the sharing of such information via this here weblog – I’ve decided to step up the notch on this debatable accountability notion and reveal my documented plan!

Life Purpose

…to do justly…to love mercy…and to walk humbly with my God. {ref. micah 6.8

Personal Mission Statement

By God’s grace, I strive for continuous personal growth with passion, boldness, and creativity through new experiences, skills, and knowledge. I exhibit integrity and compassion in all aspects of my life and seek a positive impact on my world, my community, my friends, my family, and myself. To these ends, I have my husband to encourage me and share my adventure, my God and my faith to ground me, a healthy lifestyle to extend and enhance my experience of life, and simplicity to avoid distractions from what is important.

Vision
I will continue to live life as a human made in God’s image, honoring the spirituality, creativity and humanity around me, while encouraging, helping and guiding others to do the same.

Core Values

  1. Spiritual Awareness — To Be Conscious
  2. Meaningful Relationships in connection with others
  3. The Pursuit of Knowledge and Meaningful Experiences
  4. The Impact through Inspiration and Influence
  5. The Significance of Christ-like Service

Specific Goals for 2008

  1. To show in my thoughts and my actions that Christ is number one in my life by talking to Him often and hearing His voice through His Word, His Spirit, His creation and the encouragement of others
  2. To purposefully walk in His presence by acknowledging Him and developing a clearer awareness of His activity in my daily life
  3. To conscientiously guard the small and few moments I get to spend with Mark
  4. To use time in my car to develop relationships by calling friends or family
  5. To maintain good stewardship of this shell God’s given me by exercising often and eating regular, healthy meals
  6. To engage in continual worship on a daily basis and weekly in community
  7. To create an atmosphere of praise all around me by exuding Christ’s likeness in patience, meekness, creativity and integrity
  8. To continue giving regularly to CVC/Church of the Hills and our missionary friends
  9. To speak of Christ boldly at school and at work, while petitioning for courage and wisdom on what to say and when to say it
  10. To find at least 10 minutes each day to revel in God’s creation, breathing in His beauty and appreciating His sovereignty, creativity and sense of humor in my life
Leave a Reply

