how to Tuesday {Interview with a vampire?}

I’ve been preparing for several intense meetings within the past couple of weeks, and in the preparation, I came across these questions…they were quite self-reflective. I noticed that most of the questions were based on behavioral or social reactions, but this one stood out among the others. Try it on for size: If you have the choice of giving a transplant to a successful elderly member of the community or a 20-year old drug addict, how would you choose?

That is fantastic question, which addresses both a strong ethical dilemma as well as involve acute critical thinking skills. Either way, the respondent must answer rationally and cognitively on an emotionally charged question. Wow! I’m sure glad I wasn’t in the hot seat!
Here were some of the other not-so-scary questions I encountered:

  • Who is your hero and why?
  • What were your favorite and least favorite courses in college?
  • Of all the people, dead or alive, who would you most like to have dinner with and why?
  • What are you passionate about?
  • How can you tell if someone is compassionate?
  • Describe yourself in three words.
  • What makes you laugh? Why?
  • Tell me about a significant event in your life and how it shaped you?
  • Which of your qualities would you want to pass down to your children?
  • What three material objects are most important to you?
  • In your experience, what have you done that you consider truly creative?
  • Do you consider yourself to be thoughtful, analytical or do you usually make up your mind fast? Give an example. (Watch time taken to respond)
  • What sort of leader do your people feel you are? Are you satisfied?
  • Would you prefer to provide less effective treatment to more people or more effective medicine to fewer patients?
  • Give me a specific example of a time when you had to conform to a policy with which you did not agree.
  • Tell me about a difficult decision you’ve made in the last year.
  • Give me an example of a time when you used your fact-finding skills to solve a problem.

Why I found it profitable to share this…I don’t know. But hey, you asked and I provided, right?!? So, next time you’re going to an interview, keep some of these questions in your back pocket. You’ll shock the socks off of the interviewer, but be ready for the questions to bounce back to you after you’ve stumped ’em in round three!

14 thoughts on “how to Tuesday {Interview with a vampire?}

  1. So glad to help, tawny! You know, Mark and I survived our first year of dating by asking each other questions like these…it helped us keep our hands to ourself…for a few minutes at least! 😉

    And Alece, my answer to the transplant question would entail additional questions, such as, “define ‘successful'” and “do you feel one member has more to add to society than another” and “how can the answer to this question benefit your knowledge of my ethical principles?” When in doubt…ask a question to answer a question. Good glory, Jesus did it all the time! 🙂

  2. aaaah — so this list is actually from your dating archives. i see…

    and, the old doge-the-bullet trick on answering the question, eh? works for me!

  3. alece, alece, alece…didn’t you ever hear of the thing called “unconditional love”? eh?
    [but i totally agree w/ you…we can do it to our own comments on our own blogs, why can’t we do it when we comment somewhere else…get w/ it wordpress!]

    Tawny…I think that’s a subjective question. Age is relative, right?

  4. “If you have the choice of giving a transplant to a successful elderly member of the community or a 20-year old drug addict, how would you choose?”

    The only question for me is which person is likely to make the greater contribution to society if they live, age wouldn’t necessarily be a factor.

    A retired professional or doctor, who teaches the young, is an example of an elderly person who is likely to contribute more to society than a 20 year old drug addict.

    An elderly person who does volunteer work is another example.

    An old retired person who just sits in their hammack would be out of luck with me. 🙂

  5. To me, it is the age is a practical question. A healthy, productive 60 year old may have as much time with my organ as a 20 year old drug addict. A ninety two year old will more than likely need another organ very soon. And in reality, I would pray and trust God to lead me to give to the person He wanted, so it wouldn’t matter. 🙂

  6. HA – Ed!!! I’m gonna pray you’re not my surgeon when I’m of the “elderly” status…I’m totally sucking up every moment of hammock life! Every. single. moment!

    Tawny, what wisdom is in that answer. There is definite a spiritual guidance that is certainly necessary in a situation like that.

    We also never considered asking the patients themselves. hmmmmmm.

  7. I say give the drug addict the transplant… but then I have a certain affection for drug addicts, having that in my own past.

    Seriously though, I love these questions… I am memorizing them ALL for my date on Friday! (ok maybe not)

  8. Yeah, I am all about the druggie. I heart people with addictions. The way I see it, the elderly person (no matter what their age) has already lived a strong and successful life…the drug addicted one needs a little more time to and it seems like this might be the opportunity he or she might need or for me the donor to invest in such a cause. I would spend as much time I could with both then pull out my heart with my bare hands and hand it over.

  9. scott…don’t forget to add the “would you rather” questions…they’re a shoe in for a good night kiss!

    and kristi…the whole idea of you ripping your heart out w/ your bare hands gave me goosebumps…that’s both beautiful and gross.

Leave a Reply

