Blog Action Day 08 {my little contribution…}

a little bit of moxy on poverty

What is poverty? Poverty is hunger. Poverty is lack of shelter. Poverty is being sick and not being able to see a doctor. Poverty is not having access to school and not knowing how to read. Poverty is not having a job, is fear for the future, living one day at a time. Poverty is losing a child to illness brought about by unclean water. Poverty is powerlessness, lack of representation and freedom. Any reasonable definition of poverty or hunger implies that significant numbers of people are living in intolerable circumstances where starvation is a constant threat, sickness is a familiar companion, and oppression is a fact of life.

11 thoughts on “Blog Action Day 08 {my little contribution…}

  1. Cathi that is unfortunately a very accurate picture of poverty that far too many people live in.

    If we look back at our families history it is likely that we will find someone who lived under these conditions. There are many examples of people overcoming poverty. Many volunteers and charities who help those in need. There just aren’t enough of them.

    America has the resources, what we lack is the will to do enough to address this terrible condition.

    As our ancestors learned poverty can struck us down at anytime. We need to understand that when we pass by a poverty stricken area tomorrow that could be us.

  2. I agree that poverty of spirit is a greater problem than the outward physical signs of this terrible condition.

    In America we have the financial resources to overcome the signs of poverty we can see all around us. What we lack is the will, the spirit, to do so.

  3. mandy and ed – to know that so many people may be one paycheck away from this state is traumatic and terrifying. to know that the quality of one’s health and mortality is significantly contingent upon their financial state or even their physical location is tragic…These resources, Ed, are like a hidden treasure that is not locked but only buried beneath one very heavy hand.

  4. I was just talking to a friend about the fact that we live feeling so entitled that we forget to acknowledge how rich we are. I have $8.74 in the bank after bills and I am wealthier than most on the planet. I have a home, food, water and health care. And my spirit is overflowing with love and friendships. I’m able to spoil my dog when most people would want to feed their children. We need to be reminded more often. good post.

  5. ya know what is sad about this. as i read each part of this…i actually saw specific people in my mind, either from the past or presently, who are living in poverty. its right outside our front doors.

  6. oh sara, your comment is so real. and so true.
    I remember watching Pursuit of Happyness and feeling the anxiety in my stomach when the father and son had only pennies in their accounts b/c I’ve so been there…yet, I’ve never non-intentionally missed a meal or never had to forgo proper medical treatment when needed…what a powerful response to such a short post. I admire your brain.

    Tammy, you’re so right. It used to be only the guys on the corner of busy intersections with the cardboard sign reading, “I’m not going to lie, I just want beer”…that was my only sight of poverty…now, it’s even intruding my very own family!

Leave a Reply

