Ergo 20 | Mondays w/ Marjie {all messed up!}

Marjie sent me this Franciscan Benediction the other night…this thing messed me up. ERGO…let me mess you up too!

May God bless you with discomfort
At easy answers, half-truths, and superficial relationships
So that you may live deep within your heart.

May God bless you with anger
At injustice, oppression, and exploitation of people,
So that you may work for justice, freedom and peace.

May God bless you with tears
To shed for those who suffer pain, rejection, hunger and war,
So that you may reach out your hand to comfort them and
To turn their pain into joy.

And may God bless you with enough foolishness
To believe that you can make a difference in the world,
So that you can do what others claim cannot be done
To bring justice and kindness to all our children and the poor.

Amen

13 thoughts on “Ergo 20 | Mondays w/ Marjie {all messed up!}

  1. Honestly? The message in that benediction is what keeps me sane. When my disease took over and the pain became insane (I’m now homebound) a priest once said to me that I was privileged to know true suffering because then all I am able to hold onto it God.

    After I got over the urge to punch and kick him, I realized he was right. I have no health, wealth, security or potential for changing or improving my physical life. And I am more accepting and peaceful and trusting than I have ever been. It is crazy hard every day, but it has been a gift in its own way.

    Here’s another similar idea by Khalil Gibran that I like:

    Then a woman said, “Speak to us of Joy and Sorrow.”

    And he answered:

    Your joy is your sorrow unmasked.

    And the selfsame well from which your laughter rises was oftentimes filled with your tears.

    And how else can it be?

    The deeper that sorrow carves into your being, the more joy you can contain.

    Is not the cup that hold your wine the very cup that was burned in the potter’s oven?

    And is not the lute that soothes your spirit, the very wood that was hollowed with knives?

    When you are joyous, look deep into your heart and you shall find it is only that which has given you sorrow that is giving you joy.

    When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.

    Some of you say, “Joy is greater than sorrow,” and others say, “Nay, sorrow is the greater.”

    But I say unto you, they are inseparable.

    Together they come, and when one sits alone with you at your board, remember that the other is asleep upon your bed.

    Verily you are suspended like scales between your sorrow and your joy.

    Only when you are empty are you at standstill and balanced.

    When the treasure-keeper lifts you to weigh his gold and his silver, needs must your joy or your sorrow rise or fall.

  2. i’m still sitting w/ the statement in sara’s comment “When you are joyous, look deep into your heart and you shall find it is only that which has given you sorrow that is giving you joy.”…wow…yet another thing to mess me up, sara! Don’t let Ed see it! 😉

    lil’ ang – I still have it on my desktop, just waiting for the right day, that’s all. 🙂

    Oh gch, I feel like it’s been forever since we’ve “talked”…why is this? I don’t know…but you are loved right back!!!!

    Hey ed…i’m w/ you on the foolishness…that comes right after my selfishness though. ugh!

    Mandy mac, I should put these together in a book and read it whenever I need a slap across the forehead! Kind of masochistic, but albeit necessary when I get way too full of myself…which is way too often!

  3. I like how this ties into your blog title: Perpetual Transition. You have a heart for things being stirred up and being comfortable with that. Reminds me of how our Lord keeps us close to Him, stirring our hearts to reconsider His way in our day to day, and even the mundane. Thanks for that.

    Blessings,
    Roxanne

  4. C,

    Great point. Kind of like the saying, “The only thing that stays the same is change.” I’m not very savvy when it comes to recalling verses and what not (I’m a have to looker uper), but I think what you are touching on is the growth that God provides through the “rivers” perpetual transitions take us on. If things stood still we’d all be stinky ponds. I like how you think, and thanks for making me think.

    Bless you real good,
    Roxx

  5. PS: It must be that God is trying to tell us that by free will we can stay stuck if we want to, but if we are willing to grab on to His cloak and trust him through transitions we will grow. The irony is if we stay stuck by human choice, He will respect that choice. I am sure this makes Him sad, but He is a gentleman after all. Wow, you got me on some good thinkin’. Thanks for offering church on Tuesday! xoxox, R

  6. taminator..you are so right! I didn’t even think of applying it to church life…great perspective!

    roxx…doesn’t it just make you stop and ask…do i really want to pray this? and hey, no prob about the church on tuesday thing…i’ll pass the offering plate later!

Leave a Reply

