Ergo 22 | my Indian name

[I’m not sure how to use “ergo” in this post…ERGO, I’ve used this sentence.]

I am one who, even now, can be called “daddy’s little girl”…maybe that would be my Indian name…if I were Indian, of course. Tears came to my eyes this morning when I opened this email from my daddy.

And Cathi would say: Carry me Daddy

Deuteronomy 33:12
“Let the beloved of the LORD rest secure in him,
for he shields him all day long,
and the one the LORD loves rests between his shoulders.”

12 thoughts on “Ergo 22 | my Indian name

  1. AWWW! I had an Indian name once. I can’t remember what it was or what it meant….I will have to try to remember. Anyway, I worked at this Outdoor Wilderness program and we used alot of the Native American culture in our program. it was really cool.

  2. I think I just fell in love with your dad.

    I love when my dad calls and says, “Hey, how’s my babydoll today?” I immediately feel wrapped up and secure.

  3. wow…ramsey, i’m glad your indian name had so much unforgettable impact 😉 I would have loved to experience that though! I can do the rain dance like no other!!!

    sara…i know…he calls me his little jewish princess, and i melt…there’s a safety there that is incomparable to anything else, but it also has given me such a special picture of the Father’s love.

  4. I know isn’t that terrible. It had something to do with taking care of children although they threatened to give me a name that meant something like “she who talks too much and laughs too loudly.”!

  5. Tam… it makes me sad you didn’t have a dad around too. I’d be happy to share mine with you now; he’d hug you and give you a nickname before I’d have the chance to introduce you. (He nicknamed me Gitz and I thought that was my name long before I knew my real one.)

  6. I remember my dad used to put me on his shoulders and sing, ” Happy Trails”….so this reminds me of that:)

    Ergo, I think this verse goes without saying…ya know:)
    sort of a correlation between the two!!!

    Love ya!

  7. taminator…i’m thinking that has to be the most appropriate name for you! [makes me miss laughing w/ you…i need to go watch our video again…that’ll make me feel better].

    sara – i love it that you’re willing to share your daddy! that’s awesome…I’m way too selfish for that one! 😉 Oh, and i had your name as “glitz”…fixed it – all is well.

    lil’ang – that story makes me smile! and your ergo statement makes me cut up laughing! If one of my students responded to me like that…I’d be in a 5 minute moment of bewilderment!

  8. I didn’t notice the mistake… but that’s funny!!! I can be a little glitzy at times, but I’m afraid sitting here in my pjs at 1 in the afternoon wouldn’t really fit that bill. 🙂

  9. Not have been the most popular member of my family I won’t repeat what have been called. 🙂

    I found a list of Indian names on “Snowwowl.com”.

    Ergo – your father would be “Alo” which means “spirit guide; he who looks up”. A very wise man.

    Mine would be Beshkno, which means “bald eagle” in Potawatomi. At least the bald part is right. 🙂

  10. Hey, girlie… I tried to leave a comment on your hubby’s blog but it said it had trouble processing it? Anyway, just wanted to tell him he did a great job with his talk that you posted. He was definitely a vessel for something greater.

Leave a Reply

